Users and roles
Channelyze lets you define any number of internal users that will have access to the platform. It lets you define user roles that can be assigned to various users, which control the access that those users have to various parts of the platform.
You can access the user roles by selecting Settings from the left-hand menu pane and then selecting the User Roles tab. By default, Channelyze comes with five pre-defined user roles:
|All access||Provides full access to all area of the platform. The user that creates the account is assigned to this role.|
|Sales||Provides access to the sales portions of the platform.|
|Sales managers||Provides elevated access to the sales portions of the platform, intended for sales managers.|
|Marketing||Provides access to the portions of the platform related to marketing, for instance price lists and assets.|
|Channel development||Provides access to the portions of the platform focused on growing channel partners.|
New users roles may be created by pressing the New User Role button. Existing users roles may be editing by clicking on the user role entry in the roles table.
When editing a user role, you can tick or untick various permissions to enable or disable access to various features and actions. Permissions can be set at both a high level and a granular level. For instance, you can enable or disable access to a particular area within Channelyze, e.g. the Partner Database. If access to the Partner Databasse is enabled, then you can specify more fine-grained control over what the user can do within that area of Channelyze. For instance you can specify if they are able to change partnr information.
Some permissions have additional settings associated with them. For instance, the “Can approve deals” permission has an additional setting, which lets you select the maximum value for the approval. If a user belongs to more than one user role that enables a permission with an additional setting, the higher value will take precedence.
Channelyze lets you customise dashboards and associate them with specific user roles. This is useful because different user roles will be interested in different metrics related to their area of interest within the platform. For example, sales-based roles will be interested in revenue-related metrics and marketing-based will be interested in channel growth-related metrics. You can configure one or more dashboards for a specific user role within the Dashboard tab of the User Role page.
To add a new dashboard to a user role, first open the user role page and then select the Dashboard tab. A default dashboard is associated and shown. You may either edit this dashboard or create a new dashboard by pressing the + button next to the dashboard dropdown.
To edit an existing dashboard, select the dashboard from the dropdown and then press the Edit Layout button. A dashboard toolbar pane is shown to the left, containing various toolbar items to help you structure the dashboard and also select charts to show in the dashboard.
Start by dragging the yellow Row item onto the dashboard area. This will create a new row, where you can then drag columns and/or dashboard charts. If you want to show two dashboard charts on a single line, you can drag two Column items onto the row and then drag a dashboard chart into each column.
You can delete a row or column by clicking it and pressing the delete or backspace button on your keyboard.
When you have completed arranging the dashboard, press the Save Layout button to save your changes.
You can access the user roles by selecting Settings from the left-hand menu pane and then selecting the Users tab.
A user record is created for the person that creates the account. Additional users may be added to Channelyze by pressing the New user button and entering their name, email address and selecting one or more user roles to associate with the user.
An existing user may be edited by clicking on the relevant entry in the Users tab. As well as letting you select the user roles associated with the user, you can also specify the regions and product families that a particular user is associated with.
If no regions or product families are selected, then the user will have access to all partners, lead and deals associated with any region or product family. By selecting one or more regions or product families, you can restrict access to partners, leads and deals in unselected regions or associated with unselected product families.